I believe… I believe… It’s silly, but I believe

I confess, I love cheesy holiday movies. The other night, the girls and I watched one together and it was lots of fun snuggling beneath our blankets enjoying some time together. However; I must admit it has created some conflict within me.

It was one of those movies in which the message always get to me. The plot consisted of the conflict between those who believe and those who do not believe (in Santa, of course). There was also an underlying message of the importance of love and community, a little sentimental and superficial, but it was there.6545492581_400267e41e_o

But after watching it I’m left with many unanswerable questions. What will watching movies like this teach my children about faith and love? Will it draw them deeper into the life of faith or will it create doubt because it doesn’t really get to the heart of the matter about the depths of faith and love? By not discouraging a belief in the modern notion of Santa Clause, am I only setting them up for a life of skepticism to the intangibles of life?

It’s a common struggle for me as a parent to wonder if what I’m doing with them is honouring or if it will somehow damage them in the future. I long to raise them well but too often I have to apologize to them for not getting it right.

Today, my mind turns back again to those wise words I heard several years ago and hold on for dear life resting in the knowledge that struggling with these questions and concerns are more about me becoming an adult than about my own children’s journeys because ultimately, they have to make their own way. (https://lorijamesblog.wordpress.com/2014/02/02/becoming-human-2/)

So I find myself convicted to surrender once again to God…surrendering the power to control and the ability determine the future of my children.  I find myself needing to trust, comforted in the knowledge that the One who brings all life into being is drawing my children down their own path, always waiting to heal the hurts that even I have caused. So I pray with the psalmist “Restore us, O God of hosts; let your face shine, that we may be saved.” Psalm 80:19.

Leave a Reply

