The Myth of Being Patient

If you’ve been reading my posts and have begun to think how good of a parent I am, let me disabuse you of that notion. I’m not a model parent and the one area that I have the most struggle with is in the area of patience.

Lori AngryI’m the mom who gives warnings a full half hour before we have to leave because my children are in danger of making me late. Rush, rush everywhere and no time to spend taking time to nurture my children in the process. I’m the mom who loses her patience quickly when said child dawdles instead of focusing on the task at hand. I’m the mom who several nights a week apologizes to her children for not being more patient or for getting so easily frustrated.

Hello, I’m Lori James and I’m impatient.

Before I had my own children, I thought I had your average amount of patience. Sure, I could fly off the handle with a customer service representative of a major corporation with whom I had issues, but overall, I was your average person when it comes to having patience.

My self perception might have had something to do with the fact that I internalized a lot of things and that I never had to live with anyone as intimately as I live with my family now.

That’s why I’m so struck by 2 Peter 3:9&15a which says, “The Lord is not slow about his promise…but is patient with you…regard the patience of our Lord as salvation.”

Can I tell you how glad I am that God has lots of patience with me? I’m also glad that the Lord’s Prayer doesn’t say, “have patience with me as I have patience with those around me” because God would have given up on me long ago! I would have.

During this time of advent, I’m praying for more patience…and trying to live that out in the hopes that my children will know more grace…but I bet, I will still be struggling with patience next year at this time…

 

Leave a Reply

