Desolate Roads

There are more kilometres of roads per capita in Saskatchewan than in any other province. Our visitors who reside in urban Ontario when visiting are amazed by the lack of traffic on the roads.

But when you do the math, it makes sense that driving on highways in Saskatchewan can be a lonesome experience.

After having lived here for over 10 years, you’d think I’d be used to it by now. But one day earlier this year, I found myself  on a new highway heading out to visit a friend.

As the kilometres passed me by and the van still hadn’t travelled through a town nor had another car passed our way, I began to become unsure.

As we got further away from familiar territory I became a little anxious. Was I going in the right direction? Would I get to where I was going? Did I take the right turn?

With no sign posts in sight confirming that I was on the correct course, I continued to drive with hope that I would get to my destination.

Sure enough, it didn’t take much longer when I found my destination.

It was a great visit. I’m so glad that I didn’t give into my anxiety turning around in order to make sure that I was headed in the right direction. If I had given into the anxiety it would have limited the precious time I had to visit with my friend and I wouldn’t have known the joy in the visit.

The last few months, life has felt a bit like that journey that day as the road our family is travelling on lately, seems to be a bit more barren.

There are times when it feels like we have taken a wrong turn and that the roads are deserted while other travellers are staying home where it is safe and warm.

There are times when I would give anything to see sign posts from God that we are still located in the general vicinity of lighter days ahead.

But still we travel on.

We travel on, hoping that the scenery will become a little less barren. We travel on, hoping that this barrenness will give way to new life. We travel on, assured that God is in our midst.

The road might be a little more desolate these days but the hope never dims knowing that the journey isn’t the end of the story but only the beginning of abundant life in God.

Photo Credit: “Inner Journey”, © 2011 Hartwig HKD, Flickr | CC-BY-ND | via Wylio

2 thoughts on “Desolate Roads

  1. Great reflections here Lori! I have felt the same while on pilgrimages (one in Southern Sask). I like the way you frame the consequences of the choice to give in to the anxiety. Peace to you and yours on this sometimes desolate road.

Leave a Reply

